• email
  • rss
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter

Board of Directors

Our Directors are leaders in the fields of banking and investment, technology, education, media, marketing, hospitality, health sciences, entrepreneurship and real estate. 

Roger Blissett

Roger Blissett, Co-Chair

Roger Blissett was previously Vice President and Branch Manager of the U.S. licensed offices of Royal Bank of Canada, primarily focused on institutional clients and capital markets activities. Mr. Blissett also held the title of Managing Director, U.S. Strategy.
Randolph Nelson

Randolph Nelson, Co-Chair

Randolph Nelson is President of Sanguine Gas Exploration LLC. Prior to working at Sanguine, he was a Senior Account Officer at Citibank in the Leveraged Lending Group.
Mimi Clarke Corcoran

Mimi Clarke Corcoran, Secretary

Mimi Corcoran is President of the National Center for Learning Disabilities. Ms. Corcoran was previously Vice President of Talent Development at New Visions for Public Schools, and before that she was the director of the Special Fund for Poverty Alleviation at The Open Society Foundations, and served as the Executive Director of the Beginning with Children Foundation, Inc.
Kevin Brandmeyer

Kevin Brandmeyer, Treasurer

Kevin Brandmeyer co-runs a seven-person coverage team in Goldman, Sachs & Co.’s Investment Management Division and heads up many of the team’s strategic relationships with Endowments, Foundations, Family Offices and owners of private companies.
Lucy N. Friedman

Lucy N. Friedman, President

Lucy Friedman is the founding President of ExpandED Schools. Prior to founding ExpandED Schools (formerly known as TASC), Ms. Friedman was the founder and Executive Director of Safe Horizon (formerly known as Victims Services), a crime victim assistance and advocacy organization.
Leon Botstein

Leon Botstein

Leon Botstein is the President of Bard College. He is also the music director and principal conductor of the American Symphony Orchestra and the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, the radio orchestra of Israel.
Je Carr

Jé Carr

Jé Carr is Chief Business Development Officer at Neighborhood Trust Financial Partners. He previously managed business development at Twitter and was a strategic partner for development at Google Inc.
Esther Dyson

Esther Dyson

Esther Dyson is Executive Founder of Way to Wellville, a 10-year nonprofit project which operates in five small U.S. communities, helping them to improve their own health. Its mission is "to demonstrate the social and economic benefits of investing in health and resilience, versus trying to fix things with expensive health care when it's too late."
Greg Farrell

Greg Farrell

Greg Farrell is the founder and President Emeritus of EL Education (formerly Expeditionary Learning Schools Outward Bound). He came to work at Outward Bound in 1990, after nearly 20 years on the national Outward Bound Board of Directors, during which time he was Executive Director of the Fund for the City of New York, a foundation established by the Ford Foundation to help improve the quality of life in New York City. He graduated from Princeton with a B.A. in English in 1957, and did graduate work at the Rutgers Urban Studies Center and the Harvard Graduate School of Design.
Eloner Habtezghi

Eloner Habtezghi

Eloner is Managing Partner at 2020 Global Ventures, LLC, an independent advisory and consultancy group specializing in energy and related sectors for Africa & Latin America regions. Previously, she held leadership roles at BNP Paribas Securities and KPMG Corporate Finance. She earned her BS in Petroleum Engineering at University of Oklahoma and MBA from Southern Methodist University. Eloner has been involved with tutoring and mentoring youth and participated in Financial Women’s Association of NY's mentoring program.
Jay Kriegel

Jay L. Kriegel

Jay Kriegel is a Senior Advisor at Related Companies and serves as Counsellor to the firm of Abernathy MacGregor. He ran New York City’s campaign to host the Olympic Games of 2012. He was publisher and co-founder of American Lawyer Magazine and Chief of Staff/Special Counsel to New York Mayor John V. Lindsay.
Stanley S. Litow

Stanley S. Litow

Stanley Litow is the Vice President of Corporate Citizenship & Corporate Affairs at IBM and President of IBM International Foundation. Before joining IBM, he served as the Deputy Chancellor of Schools for New York City.
Frederica Perera

Frederica P. Perera

Frederica Perera is professor of Environmental Health Sciences at Columbia University and Director of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health.
Rachel Skaistis

Rachel Skaistis

Rachel Skaistis is a partner with Cravath, Swaine & Moore’s Litigation Department. She serves on the board of New York Lawyers for the Public Interest (NYLPI) and the advisory board for the National Women’s Law Center. In 1999, she served a one year clerkship with Hon. Shira A. Scheindlin of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York.
Herbert Sturz

Herbert Sturz, Founding Chair

Herbert Sturz is a senior advisor of the Open Society Foundations, where he helped establish NURCHA, which has facilitated the construction of over 300,000 houses in South Africa. Mr. Sturz has served as founding director of the Vera Institute of Justice; New York City Deputy Mayor for Criminal Justice; Chairman of the New York City Planning Commission and founding Chairman of the Center for New York City Neighborhoods.

Leadership Council

The ExpandED Schools Leadership Council members are select individuals who are committed to our mission of closing the learning gap. Leadership Council members are ambassadors for ExpandED Schools and special advisors to the Board Chair(s) and President.

Annette Nazareth

Annette L. Nazareth

Annette L. Nazareth is a partner at Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP, leading trading and markets practice within the firm’s Financial Institutions Group. A key financial services policymaker for more than a decade, she was appointed U.S. Securities and Exchange Commissioner in 2005. During her tenure at the Commission, she worked on numerous groundbreaking initiatives, including execution of quality disclosure rules, implementation of equities decimal pricing, short sale reforms and modernization of the national market system rules.
Pedro A. Noguera

Pedro A. Noguera

Pedro Noguera is a Distinguished Professor of Education in the Graduate School of Education and Information Sciences at UCLA. He serves on the boards of national and local organizations and appears as a regular commentator on educational issues. He serves as an advisor to large urban school districts throughout the U.S.
Soledad O’Brien

Soledad O’Brien

Soledad O’Brien is the Chief Executive Officer of Starfish Media Group, which produces documentaries and scripted and non-scripted series for CNN and other networks. She was an award-winning anchor and special correspondent for CNN/US.
Jennifer Raab

Jennifer J. Raab

Jennifer Raab is President of Hunter College, the largest college in the City University of New York (CUNY) system. Previously she served as Chairman of the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission.
Robert Steel

Robert K. Steel

Bio coming soon.
Diana Taylor

Diana Taylor

Diana Taylor is Vice Chair of Solera Capital LLC. She previously served as managing director at Wolfensohn & Co., and before that as the New York State Superintendent of Banks and Chairwoman of the New York State Banking Board. She is board chair of ACCION International and Hudson River Park Trust.  She is an emeritus board member of the YMCA of New York City.